
 NEW YORK STATE 2022-2023 

UPGRADE EXAM 

1. The three seconds rule pertains to when the offensive team has control in either their front court or back court. Is 

this correct? 

 

2. To establish a position outside the three-second lane, the player must place both feet on the playing court outside 

the lane. Is this correct? 

3. The three second rule is in effect when a team is in control of the ball for a throw-in. Is this correct? 

4.  The ball is at the disposal of free thrower A1. B1 steps into the lane, and the official gives the delayed-violation 

signal. A1 then requests a timeout When the team returns to the free throw after the timeout, the official puts the 

ball at the disposal of A1 and again gives the delayed-violation signal. The free throw is missed by A1, and the 

official awards a substitute free throw. Was the official correct? 

5. Team A sets a double screen for A1, who leaves the playing court voluntarily and runs under the basket, circles 

around, returns to the playing court, and then is the first to receive the ball. The official calls a violation on A1. Is 

the official correct?  

6. The alternating-possession procedure starts when an official places the ball at the disposal of a player for a throw-

in. The alternating-possession procedure ends and the arrow is reversed immediately when a passed ball legally 

touches an inbounds player. Is this correct?  
7. The alternating-possession procedure starts when an official places the ball at the disposal of a player for a throw-

in. The alternating-possession procedure ends and the arrow is reversed immediately when a player, who is 

located on the playing court, touches and causes the ball to be out of bounds. Is this correct? 
8. The alternating-possession procedure starts when an official places the ball at the disposal of a player for a throw-

in. The alternating-possession procedure ends and the arrow is reversed immediately when the throw-in team 

commits a throw-in violation. Is this correct? 
9. The alternating-possession procedure starts when an official places the ball at the disposal of a player for a throw-

in. The alternating-possession procedure ends and the arrow is reversed immediately when the offensive team 

commits a foul while their player is holding the ball for a throw in. Is this correct? 
10. The alternating-possession procedure starts when an official places the ball at the disposal of a player for a throw-

in. The alternating-possession procedure ends and the arrow is reversed immediately when the defensive team 

commits a foul while the offensive player is holding the ball for a throw in. Is this correct?  
11. The ball is at the disposal of A1 for a free-throw, it is a violation when A1 breaks the vertical plane of the free-

throw line with either foot before the ball strikes the ring, flange, or backboard, or before the free throw ends. Is 

this correct? 
12. After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free-thrower, it is a violation when any player not located in a legal 

marked lane space fails to remain behind the free-throw line extended and behind the three-point field-goal line 

until the ball strikes the ring, flange or backboard, or until the free throw ends. Is this correct? 
13. After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free-thrower, it is a violation when the free-thrower purposely fakes a 

try or the free-thrower’s teammates or opponents purposely fake a violation. Is this correct? 
14. On a free throw by A1, B1 commits a lane violation. Following the lane violation by B1, A1’s free throw misses the 

ring and flange? The official calls a violation of B1. Is the official correct? 
15. On a free throw by A1, B1 commits a lane violation. Following the lane violation by B1, A1’s teammate, who is not 

in a marked lane space and is located above the free-throw line and outside the three-point line, steps inside the 

three-point line before the ball is released by A1. The official calls a double violation. Is the official correct? 
16. On the second of two free throw by A1, B1 commits a lane violation. Following the lane violation by B1, A1’s 

teammate, who is not in a marked lane space and is located above the free-throw line and outside the three-point 

line, steps inside the three-point line before the ball hits the ring or flange. The official calls a double violation and 

uses the alternating-possession arrow to put the ball into play. Is the official correct? 
17. An inadvertent whistle occurs any time an official blows the whistle by mistake and does not have a ruling to 

make. Is this correct? 
18. A1 passes the ball to A2, while the pass is in flight, the trail official has an inadvertent whistle. The official uses the 

alternating possession to put the ball back into play. Is the official correct? 
19. A1’s try is in flight, the trail official has an inadvertent whistle. The try is unsuccessful. The official uses the 

alternating possession to put the ball back into play. The Referee shall inform each team and the table officials of 

the overtime procedures when the score is tied at the end of regulation time 
20. A1’s try is in flight, the trail official has an inadvertent whistle. The try is successful, Team B will receive the ball on 

the end line and is entitled to run the end line. Is the official correct? 



21. A5’s pass is deflected by B5, the pass is loose, the lead official has an inadvertent whistle, the official uses the 

alternating possession arrow to put the ball into play. Is the official correct? 
22. The Referee shall inform each team and the table officials of the overtime procedures when the score is tied at 

the end of regulation time. Is the official correct?  
23. When calling a foul the official shall stop the clock with a fist in the air. Is this correct? 
24. The Referee shall decide matters upon which the timers and scorers disagree. Is this correct? 
25. B1 fouls A1, team A is not in the bonus, the official errors by awarding A1 two free throws. A1’s first free throw is 

successful, the error is then discovered. The official counts the free throw and then gives the ball to Team B on 

the endline for a throw in. Is the official correct? 
26. As A1 drives to the basket for a layup, they are fouled by B3. The try is successful.  A2 erroneously attempts the 

free throw.  While A2’s free throw is in flight, B1  fouls A3. The officials recognize the error. The official should 

cancel the free throw, but not the foul. Is the official correct? 
27.  A1 is fouled by B3 on an successful  “2” point attempt. A2 is erroneously awarded the free throw.  While A2’s free 

throw is in flight, B1 is assessed an intentional foul on A3. The official recognizes the error. The official should 

cancel the throw and the foul. Is the official correct? 
28.  The Referee will correct all errors and mistakes within the prescribed time frame. Is this correct? 
29. The Referee shall forfeit the game when the conditions warrant. Is this correct? 
30.  B1 fouls A3 on an unsuccessful lay-up. A3 misses the first free throw and the officials allow the ball to remain in play. B4 

passes the ball to B5 who scores on a lay-up. A3 takes the ball out of bounds and throws the ball to A4 who is dribbling up 

the floor. The trail official realizes that A3 did not receive their second free throw. A3 will shoot one free throw and play 

with continue with the result of the free throw. Is this correct? 
31. B4 holds cutter A4.  The officials are not notified that Team A is in the bonus. Thrower-In A1 throws the ball to A3 who 

scores on a “10” foot jump shot. The officials now realizes that A4 should have been awarded 2 free throws. The officials 

award A4 their 2 free throws with no one lined up and then Team B will get the ball on the endline and will be permitted to 

run the endline. Is the official correct? 

32. Back boards should not be tinted. Is this correct? 
33. A1 is dribbling in the back court and there is 25 seconds on the shot clock. B3 and A3 commit a double 

foul in the front court. Team A will receive the ball at the point of interruption and the “10” second count 

will reset. Is this correct? 
34. A1 is dribbling the ball in the back court and there is 28 seconds on the shot clock. The trail stops play 

and assesses Team A with an administrative technical foul. Team A will not receive a reset of the “10” 

second count. Is this correct? 
35. A1’s try strikes the ring and is unsuccessful. The ball is batted into the back court where A4 recovers 

the rebound. The shot clock operator reset the shot clock to 20 seconds. Is this correct? 

36. The referee must toss the jump ball. Is this correct? 

37. When an official stops the clock on a violation, they should blow the whistle and raise their arm with an open 

hand. Is this correct? 

38. With 0.3 left in the game. A1 has a throw-in on the end line. A1 throws the ball to A3 who catches the ball and is 

fouled as they attempt the try and the game clock horn sounds.  The ball goes in the basket. The Official cancels 

the goal but awards A3 “2” free throws. Is the official correct? 

39. Team A is awarded the ball for a alternating possession throw-in. A1’s throw-in is kicked by A2. The official 

awards Team B with a designated spot throw-in and instructs the timer to switch the arrow to Team B. Is the 

official correct? 
40. A post player is defined any offensive or defensive player in the lane with or without the ball with their back to 

the basket. Is this correct? 

41. An Intentional foul is defined as. 

a. Contact with a player making a throw-in 

b. Causing excessive contact with an opponent while playing the ball 

c. Pushing or holing a player from behind to prevent a score 

d. All of the above 

 

 



42. Team A is not ready to resume play following a timeout, which is the correct procedure. 

a. The administering official shall verbalize that a ROP warning is being issued to the Team A, the 

administering official shall blow the whistle and then the closest official shall inform the head coach and 

the official scorer that a warning has been issued. 

b. The administering official shall blow the whistle, verbalize the a ROP warning is being issued to Team A, 

then the closest official shall inform the head coach and the official scorer that a warning is been issued. 

c. The closest official shall inform the head coach and the official scorer that a warning has been issued, 

the administering official shall blow the whistle, and then the administering official shall verbalize that a 

ROP warning is being issued to Team A. 

43. A1’s try for goal lodges between the backboard and rim. The alternating possession arrow favors Team B. There 

are 23 seconds remaining on the shot clock.  

a. Award Team B the ball for a designated spot throw-in and reset the shot clock to 30 seconds. 

b. Award Team B the ball for a designated spot throw-in and shot clock will remain at 23 seconds. 

c. Award Team A the ball for a designated spot throw-in and shot clock will remain at 23 seconds. 

d. Award Team A the ball for a designated spot throw-in and shot clock will remain at 30 seconds. 

 

44. A1’s try for goal lodges between the backboard and rim. The alternating possession arrow favors Team A. There 

are 23 seconds remaining on the shot clock.  

a. Award Team B the ball for a designated spot throw-in and reset the shot clock to 30 seconds. 

b. Award Team B the ball for a designated spot throw-in and shot clock will remain at 23 seconds. 

c. Award Team A the ball for a designated spot throw-in and shot clock will remain at 23 seconds. 

d. Award Team A the ball for a designated spot throw-in and shot clock will remain at 30 seconds.  

45. A1 has the ball beyond the three-point line. They pass the ball to A2, who is also beyond the three-point line. B1 

tips the pass, and the ball enters Team A’s basket. 

a. Team A will get three points 

b. Team A will get two points 

c. Team B will get two points 

d. No points will be count since B2 put the ball in the wrong basket 

46. A1’s throw-in hits an official who is on the court. A1 enters the court and is the first to touch the ball. 

a. Throw-in violation on A1 

b. Legal, play continues 

c. Technical foul on A1 

47. With 28.8 seconds remaining in the 2nd quarter, A1 secures a defensive rebound and begins to dribble towards 

their front court. The official notice that A2 is apparently injured in the lane area and stops play to check on 

them. Team A’s Athletic Trainer is beckoned onto the court to attend to A2.  Team A’s head coach requests and 

is granted a timeout. There are 26 seconds remaining on the shot clock and play will resume with a throw-in on 

the sideline in the backcourt.  How many seconds does Team A have to advance the ball into the frontcourt? 

a. 4 

b. 6 

c. 10 

 

48. A1 is dribbling the ball in their backcourt with 27 seconds on the shot clock when B1 deflects the ball out of 

bounds with 25 seconds on the shot clock.  How many seconds does Team A have to get the ball into Team A’s 

frontcourt? 

a. 3 

b. 5 

c. 10 



49.  With 38.6 seconds remaining in the 4th quarter, the official rules a 3 second violation on A5.  Team B’s head 

coach calls a timeout. 

a. Team B has the option to advance the ball to the 28-foot frontcourt mark tableside  

b. Team B has the option to advance the ball to the 28-foot frontcourt mark opposite the scores table 

c. Team B does not have the option to advance the ball 

d. Both A and B 

50. A1 is driving to the basket for a layup, the official blows the whistle and calls a foul on B5. The try was 

unsuccessful.  A1 turns around pushes B5,  the official calls an Intentional foul on A1. How is this play 

adjudicated? 

a. B5 is ejected from the game. A1 will shoot their 2 free throws for the foul by B5, with everyone lined up. 

Then B5 will shoot the free throw for A1’s intentional foul and Team B will get the ball opposite the 

scores table for a throw-in 

b. A1 will shoot their free throws with no one lined up for the foul by B5. Then any Team B member will 

shoot 2 free throws, for the intentional foul by A1, and Team B will get the ball at the division line 

opposite the scores table for a throw-in. 

c. A1 will shoot their free throws with no one lined up for the foul by B5. Then B5 member will shoot 2 free 

throws, for the intentional foul by A1, and Team B will get the ball at the division line opposite the 

scores table for a throw-in. 

d. A1 will shoot their free throws with everyone lined up for the foul by B5. Then any Team B member will 

shoot 2 free throws, for the intentional foul by A1, and Team B will get the ball at the division line 

opposite the scores table for a throw-in. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


